Ташкент - Медресе Баракхана

Медресе Баракхана расположено в бывшей себзарской части Старого города, на территории Хаст Имам. Строительство медресе велось в несколько этапов.

Первоначально было возведено два мавзолея: один - правителя Ташкентского удела Суюниджхана (1530/32 г.), второй - безымянный (близкий по времени). В 50-х годах XVI в. они были включены в систему медресе удельного правителя Баракхана.

Медресе отличается от традиционных зданий этого типа, но сохраняет главный принцип организации вокруг открытого двора. Трапециевидно в плане, вытянутого в направлении от северо-востока на юго-запад; продольная ось подчеркнута крупным входным порталом и сильно выступающем на заднем фасаде объемом Мавзолея Суюниджхана.

Двухайванный двор обстроен одноэтажными жилыми худжрами. Декор уникален для Ташкента: нишу портала венчает свод «калаб-кари», тимпан и пилоны облицованы майоликой и кирпичной мозаикой, в окна худжр выставлены ганчевые панджара разнообразных рисунков геометрического орнамента. В 1955-63 гг. медресе было отреставрировано при участии узбеского мастера уста Ширин Мурадова.

Tashkent – Barak Khan Madrassah

The Barak-khan madrasah is located in a former Sebzar part of the Old Town in the territory of Khast Imam. The construction of the madrasah was carried out by several stages.

Initially two mausoleums were erected: the first that of Suyunijkhan (1530/32), the ruler of Tashkent apanage, the second, a nameless one (close to the time of erection). They were included in the system of the apanage prince Barak-khan madrasah in 50-s of the XVI century.

The madrasah differs from the traditional buildings of this type but keeps following the main principle of arrangement around an open yard. It is trapezoidal in plane, elongated in the direction from north-east to south-west; its longitudinal axis is emphasized with a large entrance portal and a volume of the Suyunijkhan mausoleum, heavily protrusive on the back facade.

Two-ayvan yard is surrounded by one-storey residential khudjrs built along its perimeter. The decor is unique for Tashkent: the portal bay is crowned by "kalab-kari" dome; tympan and pylons faced with majolica and brick mosaic, the khudjr windows are decorated with ganj panjara with different pattern of geometric ornament. In 1955-63 the madrasah was renovated with participation of the Uzbek master Usta Shirin Muradov.